Ionic Pairing

04Mar11

I’ve realized I’m long overdue for an update.  It hasn’t been due to lack of time or lack of content, more of just a lack of drive to actually sit down and blog.  I get into weird phases where I just can’t be bothered to upkeep my blog, which probably ends up working against me in the long run.

So things with Dex … well they’re good.  We had a bit of a hiccup last month that was the result of a miscommunication.  We went out for sushi one night, and while having random conversations the topic came up about our status.  He said “well yeah I’m dating you exclusively, for now”, which I took to be a slap in the face of sorts.  It left me in a sour mood, which didn’t help the fact that some raw fish upset my stomach, so when we got back to his place that night I pretty much opted to go home immediately.  He could tell something was wrong, and after enough poking I told him that I understand some people are looking for a filler body, but if that’s the case then I don’t think it’s really going to work out for us.   He seemed surprised, and replied by asking if I even knew how he felt.
Which I didn’t, obviously.  So he told me how he was very into me, and he was looking for a long-term thing with me.  That the remark at the restaurant was just intended as a joke, and he doesn’t want to see anyone but me.

I wish I could say that made everything better, but it didn’t.  I still felt sore and decided to go home and lick my wounds, along with deal with my stomach woes.  I ended up getting home at 8:30pm and going directly to bed, sleeping through until work the next day.

After work, I decided him and I should probably have a talk.  Or better put, ‘the talk’.    Which resolved some things, and essentially cemented things as us being in a relationship.  It was a hard pill for me to swallow, as much as I like him.  And I do like him tremendously.  Kind of scary.

But I have noticed one significant change in his attitude since it’s been made official – he seems happier.  Anytime he sees me he lights up, encourages me to come over more often, and just seems .. happy.  Always smiling and laughing.  It’s like in a sense this whole catastrophe actually worked to soothe both our nerves, as odd as that may sound.

Last weekend he invited me to a social outing where I  met his friends, which I recognize as being a big thing for him.   He also seems to really enjoy cooking dinner for me, which I find to be a nice change when compared to most of my exes who figured “well potatoes and peas work for you, right?”.  I’m starting to see the perks of dating someone who is also a vegetarian.

Also last weekend, I brought my PS3 over to his place.  Saturday afternoon saw me playing some games with him, and then Sunday I played online with some of my buddies.  At one point during a multiplayer match he came downstairs and asked if I wanted a coffee, and I distractedly mumbled an ‘umm sure’.  Only 15 minutes later did I hear the door downstairs close and see him walk over, putting a coffee next to me along with a bag of chocolate chip cookies.  He kissed my forehead and told me to have fun, then went back to playing WoW on his computer upstairs.  The guys heard everything over my headset and asked “hey, did your boyfriend just go out and buy you a coffee?”.  I was like “yeah!  And he brought me back cookies too!”.  The guys loved it, talking about how spoiled I am and how their wives would never do something like that for them.  And you know what?  I am spoiled.  He’s a great guy who appreciates my little quirks, like how intense I get while gaming and how I can ramble like crazy over the stupidest topics.   And he lets me walk around in heels on his hardwood floors.  Spoiled princess indeed.

 

No Responses Yet to “Ionic Pairing”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

