Resistance

14Nov10

Four dates in 8 days – something I don’t plan to re-create any time soon, even if I can justify it having been only two boys.

I had date number 2 with the nice guy, whom I’m going to have to name so we’ll dub Dex.  We made plans to go and see Red since we both were interested in seeing it.  I know I should have suggested dinner, and then the movie, but meh.  Movie was enough, so we made plans to meet at seven.  When I got there (two minutes late, scurrying in between parked cars while keeping my skirt tugged down to an acceptable length), I saw him standing outside the doors.  When he looked up and saw me coming, a huge smile crossed his face and he walked over to meet me.  I explained being late because of parking, but I was actually here on time.  He laughed and told me not to worry about it.

I had a voucher for two free passes along with treats, so we ended up with popcorn as a snack that neither of us really wanted.  He grabbed the popcorn and offered to carry my drink while I fumbled with the tickets.  He let me pick the seats, so I chose ones along the aisle.  When I took the aisle seat itself, he was glad because apparently he hates the aisle seat.  So in that regard we worked out fine.  We chatted until the movie started, staying within our respective bubbles of existence.

But as the movie went on (good movie, btw), the bubbles started to cross over.   His elbow was resting on my armrest to start, then my leg was crossed over and dangling in his space.  By the end of the movie I had my feet resting on the bar in front of our seats angled towards him, his leg was stretched out under mine, and he was leaning over into my area.    He was holding the popcorn, so anytime I would reach over to grab a few pieces he’d angle the bag to make it easier for me.  Though it was only the second date, there was a familiarity there as if we had done it a million times.

After the movie I offered him a ride back, and as I parked the car for what I assumed would be a 10 minute conversation.  But instead it was a two hour conversation.  Everytime there was a lull I assumed he’d say ‘okay, well I should be going …’, but instead he’d change it to another topic.  Finally he said he had to get going, which was understandable since he works at 7am.  But before leaving the car he leaned over and kissed my cheek, which surprised the hell out of me.   The cheek, really?

I feel sometimes as if he is this strange traveller from a time in which men were actually gentlemen.  He listens to everything with complete attention, rushes to open doors for me, always offers to carry things.  And a kiss on the cheek?  He might as well have kissed the back of my hand.

Either way it was a good date, and he naturally emailed me soon after.  And when two days elapsed before his next reply, he explained that he was busy with the move and didn’t have internet until Monday.  But he made the effort to reply, despite all that, which is worth something in my book.

So yeah.  Despite my desire to not want to fall into anything with a guy, I’m starting to like this one I think.  He’s a walking contradiction in this rugged outer appearance and his sweet and understanding personality.  I still don’t know if there’s longevity there, but I’m considering the idea of seeing him again to find out.

 

“A smile is a curve that sets everything straight.” – Phyllis Diller

3 Responses to “Resistance”

  1. 1 h

    Dawwww… what’s C think of this one?

    • 2 keewt

      I think she likes him, or better put – she likes that he makes me smile.

      • 3 h

        Then I’m pretty sure that checks off all the prerequisites. Here’s hoping things stay *fun* (because that is supposed to be the point, non?). *g*


Leave a Reply

