Doppelganger

12Sep10

So one of these guys I’ve been talking to post-free-communication has actually shown himself to have some potential.

1 – also a vegetarian

2 – self-sufficient adult

3 – loves to do active/outdoors things

4 – has a dog

5 – culinary adventurer

6 – likes louder music

7 – plays video games (almost negligeable since he owns a 360)

8 – likes guacamole

9 – enjoys a healthy lifestyle

10 – has a penis

But here’s the thing that worries me – he sounds an awful awful lot like my sister’s boyfriend.  They like the same bands, they’re both hardcore into biking, they like the same kinds of games, and both have that ‘I could be in a rockband’ look to them.

When telling my sister about him, she got really excited.  “Well, now he’d have someone hang around when visit.  It’d be the perfect foursome!”.  My reply was simply that I wasn’t going to date someone just because it would make her boyfriend happy.  Her reply?  “Why not?”.

She raises a valid point, seeing as how I’ve dated people for lesser reasons.  But is that really a good reason to start a relationship with someone?  Because they’d mesh well with your friends/family?  While I think it’s a perfectly good trait to search for in a partner, I wouldn’t necessarily consider it a good solitary reason to date someone.  Not to mention there’s something weird to me about the idea of dating someone who is like my brother in law.  He’s a great guy, but having two people with the same personality in the family?  It just seems weird to me.  Incestuous in a way.

Not that I’m imagining a relationship with him.  I haven’t even had a date with him yet; but the conversation got me thinking about the strangeness of it all.  Felt blogworthy.

Be careful what you pretend to be because you are what you pretend to be.” — Kurt Vonnegut

4 Responses to “Doppelganger”

  1. 1 h

    Dating: ur doin it wrong…

    … when you have to find a reason *to* go on a date with someone, as opposed to just making sure there aren’t any reasons not to. 😉


Leave a Reply

