The Idiot Gene

17Mar10

I just saw a girlfriend of mine that coincidentally is my backup at work and covered for me on Monday.  During this time she bumped into Chaos and got to talking with him.  He told her how he’s apparently buying a bar in Thailand and moving there in the spring to live there permanently.  I asked if she asked about the wife, and he told her that they talk ‘every day or two’.

All of this just makes me shake my head, hard.

Even if this is true .. EVEN IF … I cannot understand how he could be this idiotic.  Quitting a decent job with a good pay in a country with good healthcare and benefits to move to a country with poor healthcare and benefits to buy a sleazy bar and essentially become a pimp?  Seriously?!?!

Gah.  I know on some level I know I should be insulted that he’s telling everyone but me this story (three people have relayed it to me so far).  I’d like to think that maybe he just doesn’t want to lie to me, that I’ll call his bluff or tell him he’s an idiot to his face.  But I’m more resigned to the likelyhood that he doesn’t see the need in telling me because we’re not really friends any more.

I find it ironic that he’s the one who got married and he’s the one who’s pretty much put a stop to our being friends.  In most cases I should be the one to do so, feeling jilted in some way.  But I don’t, and I wanted to stay friends.  But at this stage in the game?  I think I just want out.

There is more stupidity than hydrogen in the universe, and it has a longer shelf life.” — Oscar Wilde

3 Responses to “The Idiot Gene”

  1. 1 h

    Someone dropped this in IRC. Hopefully it will bring cheer.

    • 2 keewt

      It made me giggle … except for the Bryan Adams thing. That’s such a lie!

      Where are you hanging out on IRC these days? Not to stalk, ahem. Just curious.

      Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go pick up a friend in a canoe to go shopping.

      • 3 h

        I hang out with a completely new set of friends! One whose Venn diagram is unconnected to the one you’re in.

        *can be Secret Squirrel too* :p


Leave a Reply

