Reproductively Challenged

07Mar10

I found out a few weeks ago that my sister is pregnant, due in October.  This means I will be an aunt, a real aunt for the first time.  Don’t get me wrong, I have nieces and nephews, but these are the offspring of my friends who insist on referring to me as ‘ma tante k’ or ‘auntie k’ when talking to their children about me.  For instance, “oh look at the book auntie k bought you!”.  I’m not their real aunt, but kids don’t really know the difference.  Considering the ages of the kids, they probably don’t even really understand what the book is either.

But now a flesh and blood family member is having a baby, and this excites me.  I know how much my sister wanted this, or even needed this as she has wanted it for so long.   I know on some primal level I should be jealous that she’s producing offspring first, but I’m not.  I am 100% genuinely happy for her, and excited to be an aunt.

But still no desire to be a mother.

That might not be entirely true — while looking through a book of baby photos that one of my co-workers brought in I had a very brief moment in which I thought “wow his baby is gorgeous, I want one”.  And it lasted for about thirty seconds, this pang in my stomach and desire for my womb to be filled.  But as quickly as it came it disappeared and hasn’t reappeared since then.

My sister walks around with her hand on stomach constantly, as if to reassure herself that the baby is still there.  They had an ultrasound last week in which they found a heartbeat; this brought her so much joy.  They refer to it as their ‘little bean’, since that’s about the size of it at this stage.  But her constant need to touch, for reassurance, to me indicates she’s going to be a great mother.  If at six weeks in she already cannot resist letting him/her know that she is there, then I believe everything is going to be fine.  The love that she feels now will only get stronger as it grows, of this I’m sure.

For me, I truly cannot wait for it to be born.  I want to feed it candy and buy it pretty things.  The excitement level is greater than it has ever been for friends of mine.  I can’t wait for the fall to come.

In the meantime, I have people to go and kill via my PS3.

Raising kids is part joy and part guerilla warfare.” – Ed Asner

2 Responses to “Reproductively Challenged”

  1. 1 h

    Being an aunt rocks. You get to offload all the responsibility and drop in to do the fun stuff with your nieces and nephews. 😉

    • 2 keewt

      Exactly! I am super excited to be the cool aunt that spoils them rotten and feeds them lots of candy.

      It’s all the perks of parenting without the negatives like sick kids, dirty diapers, crying through the night, chicken pox, etc..


Leave a Reply

