Falsified Information

11Dec09

While I’ve been at my current place of employment for about seven years now, I take pride in the fact that I have managed to stay out of the gossip circle for .. well, seven years.  In fact, a year after ending thing with my boyfriend some people still thought we were dating because I am -that- good at eluding it.

However it appears that has changed.

There was an odd conversation going on between two of my coworkers, a guy from another department, and myself.   I dazed out for part of the conversation and came back after mission a crucial portion.   The guy (who I’ll dub Avogadro for flow simplicity) during that time apparently made a remark about how he has a nice ass.  We talk a bit longer and then he leaves.  We discuss our work environment and I make a remark about the next time it gets a little crazy I’ll go grab Avo.  One of my coworkers makes a remark about how he’d probably like that.  The two of them laugh, and I’m stuck there with this confused deadpan look on my face.  And then the blush, the flush .. my face turning brighter than a red light.  Every time they bring this up.

It seems they find it amusing to kid about him having a crush on me.  Or vice versa.  Ugh.

So of course that night they were telling people that him and I have this thing going.  And today.  I swore to make their lives brutally difficult if this makes it through the rumour mill, which I can’t see how it won’t.  The mill has been dry and rather dull as of late.

I guess it could be worse.  Sure he’s younger than me, but I guess he’s kinda cute.  Ironically I just noticed what gorgeous blue eyes he had yesterday.  My Achilles’ heel, gorgeous eyes.   I think the biggest irony is that I don’t even like the guy like that; he is very tall and broad shouldered, and though a very nice and amusing guy I find him physically intimidating.   He is a teddy bear, but one that towers over you.  I bet he’d smell nice if you hugged him though.

Gossip is the art of saying nothing in a way that leaves practically nothing unsaid.” — Walter Winchell

No Responses Yet to “Falsified Information”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

